Odyssey

homer

Homer said that Odysseus

Angered a God

Which is why

His journey was so long

And hard.

He started as a prince

A wealthy man

But had trouble going home.

I think that’s right

I never read the poem.

Maybe it’s hard to start so high

That falling is a surprise.

I wouldn’t know.

That’s not my story.

I began in chaos,

My journey a hope-filled climb

As ever brighter vistas

Granted blessings on my way.

Sure, there have been dips and valleys

Times I’ve tripped and fallen.

But the trail keeps going higher

Where the sun has dared to shine.

Courage my companion

As love has been my guide.

On this stairway into heaven

A heaven here and now.

Maybe later too.

Who knows?

This has been enough.

Dayenu

 

 

Tags: ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Daily Bread #44 | Sermons, Poetry, and Other Musings - February 14, 2019

Leave a comment