Daily Bread # 43

IMG_2129

My sweat bands!  They came and they work super great.  Plus I had (most) of my hair cut off so it is easier to dry after a shower or the hot tub.  Once the weather warms up and I can start swimming again very short hair will be awesome as well.

I did OK on my exercise last week, not as good as the week before as one day I was just tired and took a break without getting my cardio hour in.  Still, with the sweat bands, I am now officially a jock.

Image-1Last night we talked about goal weights.  The ideal weight charts do much more harm than good.  What matters is our health, how we feel, how much energy we have, and whether we are reducing our risks for heart disease and diabetes.  I spoke about how I had changed my goal weight on my fitness apps, because the generated one was way too depressing.  As I calculate my calories in and calories out, I am looking for a deficit of 1000 so that I can continue to lose some weight while not losing my muscles.  Once I can get off a few more medications, it may be time to go for simple maintenance.  But it would be pointless to go to all this work and then go backward, sacrificing all the health benefit I have gained.  It is the reality that I will always have to pay attention to what I am putting into this body of mine.

My knees are still a mess and I am getting another cortisone shot today to help with the pain.  I will also see if I can now get on the list for knee surgery.  Once that happens, I may even be able to go hiking again!  That will feel like (another) miracle.

L’Chaim!

(My stats for the last week – down 1.8 pounds, drank over 7 gallons of water and exercised for over 575 minutes.  My cumulative weight loss so far is 84.5  pounds.)

Leave a comment