Weekly Bread #140

My weight trend line is now officially flat after 3 months of getting back on the horse! I have proved that logging food intake helps a lot. I stopped logging in May, thinking I had everything under control, and my weight gradually crept up. I started logging again July 10, and have now “flattened the curve.” Good thing I believe in science and not in magical thinking. Magical thinking can be fun, but it can also hurt you. No, I am also getting vaccines, boosters, and whatever else my doctors recommend. No horse medicine for me, save that for the horses! Knowing how many calories I have already had in a day helps me decide whether or not to have some ice cream after dinner.

I have also kept up my exercise routine – logging over 150 miles in September, most of them on hiking trails which, trust me, are both harder and more rewarding that walking around the block. The long hikes burn a lot of calories, so a few dinners out and even restaurant desserts haven’t thrown me very far off.

So exercising and paying attention to calorie intake seem to be enough to have stopped the upward trend I had going. I am glad I did not have to start weighing and measuring my food again, which was super tedious. I would have done it though, and still will if it proves to be necessary. For now, I am simply celebrating 3 months of relatively stable weight and what feels like a reasonable relationship with food. It is mostly fuel for me, a solid relationship that sustains me and keeps me happy and healthy. But I also enjoy a periodic “date meal” in honor of the work I have done the last few years and in tribute to that wild and almost reckless spirit that has kept me going and doing for more that seven decades now.

L’Chaim!

My average weight this week is down .7 pounds for a total loss of 171.7

Leave a comment