Weekly Bread #134

Life is complicated. The branches of this ancient tree we found on a new trail this week are complicated too. What made the limbs grow the way they did? Was there early damage that influenced how the tree was able to grow. Did it compensate for that damage and for other conditions that were out of its control? Not ever tree is straight and tall, but I found this one particularly beautiful in its uniqueness.

We each have to forge our own path. It is fine to get help from our friends, but the journey is ours because it is our life to live. It is our arms reaching up and out to the wider world in all its glory.

This week my weight was down. It was mainly less salt I think, but also paying more attention. We ate out, I had a few cocktails, and a few desserts. We hiked almost 30 miles in 4 days and I swam and put at least 45 minutes on the stationary bike the days we didn’t hike. Exercise is important for health and swimming and hiking are good for my soul. The bike less so, but it is a good place to read. I am still addicted to books.

My average weight this week is down 2.6 pounds for a total loss of 173.9

Leave a comment