Weekly Bread #133

Since it is pretty clear I won’t be blogging daily – not that I ever did- I changed the blog title from Daily to Weekly Bread. Maybe that is a commitment I can actually keep – or not. Things change, as all of us know. Still, it helps to have a plan. Changing the title reminds me that flexibility and adapting to change in creative ways is part of staying alive.

I have been weighing myself daily since April of 2018 and recording my average weight for the week into an App that can generate a graph like the one above. I find it helpful. The horizontal green line is at 150, which was the last “goal weight” I entered into the app. I had several intermediate goals, including getting under 200 pounds and entering “onederland” as they call it is some of the weight-loss support groups. 150 was the number the stupid BMI charts show as “overweight” for my height and 149 is “normal” so that was why I picked it as a goal. As the graph shows, at the end of 2020, I was well below the 150 marker, continuing the steady downward trend I had started and kept up for over 2 years.

I am not too concerned about getting below the 150 marker again, but definitely don’t want to go higher. I got my A1C blood test this week and am at 5.2, still well under the diabetic range. Since I got rid of so many health problems with the weight loss, staying healthy is my primary motivation for staying on track and not gaining too much back.

This week I went up, but that was mainly due, I think, to eating a delicious Burmese dinner on Thursday. My weight shot up to 153.1 the day after as a result of the salt and yeah, also the garlic noodles and the wine. That one day affected my weekly average. I skipped dessert for the next two days and this morning my weight was back down to 150.4. I can manage this, I think, I hope, without going back to the extremes I practiced before.

L’Chaim!  

My average weight this week is up 1.2 pounds for a total loss of 171.3

Leave a comment