Daily Bread #130

There is beauty even with the soft haze of the wildfire smoke that drifts everywhere in the West. Some days are better than others and when the AQI (Air Quality Index) is “moderate” or better we try to get out on the trails.

It is better than watching the news. Although I did do a purely political post this week. You can read it HERE if you want.

I am stating to feel done with this weekly blog. Maybe just a little bored talking about managing my weight. It is all pretty routine by now for me. 130 weeks of weekly posts on mostly the same topic is a lot, so no wonder I am getting a little tired of the topic. I will keep blogging no doubt, and may mention new weight management challenges if they come up, but am not sure if I will stick to the weekly schedule after this post. (If you are on a similar journey, you might want to go back and read my earlier posts. It is quite a story I think.)

I have achieved my health goals and know that If I hadn’t put in the work to improve my health, I might not have lived even this long. I definitely wouldn’t have been able to hike without both the weight loss and the knee surgery. (which the doctor wouldn’t do at my starting weight).

I am eating normal food now, having desserts and cocktails when I want them, but I don’t overdo anymore. I am quite compulsive about exercise, so it is all good.

I embarked on this journey to save my life, but also so I could continue in some small way to make the world just a little bit better. I am still working on that as it is such an uphill battle these days. We are on the edge of a precipice and at risk of destroying not only our democracy but all life on this planet. We have been here before I think. I remember practicing for nuclear war by hiding under my desk at school in the 1950’s. Things got better. Not great, but better. I hope they get better again for my children, for all of our children.

So this may be the last “Daily Bread.” Or maybe not. One thing I have learned is to never say never. Be well, stay safe, wear your damn mask, and VOTE!

L’Chaim!  Week 22 of “maintenance”: My average weight this week is down 1.5 pounds for a total loss of 183.5

Leave a comment