Weekly Bread #253-4

I missed posting last week. My excuse? Christmas, and the my wife’s birthday the day before. Everyone needs a holiday sometime and we shouldn’t need excuses in order to take them.

It has rained most of the last few weeks, a good thing for California, but not so good for hiking. We got a few miles in on the few dry days, but mostly I rode to nowhere on my stationary bike. Riding to nowhere is actually very relaxing and low stress. I read novels while I ride, so maybe I really am going somewhere.

Just a few more celebrations to go in the next week. New Year’s will be relatively low key as usual, but our 49th anniversary is about a week later. I enjoy all the celebrations and also tend to believe/hope things will somehow “settle down” after they are over. Things will be less hectic and rushed, Peace on Earth and all is calm and bright, etc. Life isn’t really ever like that though, even if we all agree that it is “A Wonderful Life.” Our minister recently did a terrific sermon on that movie. 

Church takes me places too. It can be hectic and messy at times because – you know – humans. But it also stretches my heartstrings and fans the flames of the fire that sometimes only smolders in my soul. 

L’Chaim!

My average weight this week was up 2.9 pounds for a total loss of 135.7. I was also up 1.1 pounds the week before. Do I need to make excuses for that too? Nah. It is pretty obvious. Happy holidays.

Leave a comment