Weekly Bread #211

It’s funny how we count so much in terms of years. Birthdays are the most obvious, and I had my 73rd one of those this week. But we also make note of a lot of other anniversaries. Celebrating wedding anniversaries are common and a lot of couples also celebrate the anniversaries of their first date. We do both of those as it took 39 years to be able to marry legally. I know couples who married in multiple countries and states as marriage equality crept gradually around the world. It still isn’t legal everywhere though, and it is still criminal in places. There are worse things than having several wedding anniversaries, and not being able to have even one is not the worst of it.

Ministers celebrate the anniversaries of their ordination, and sometimes their call to a beloved congregation. When I was a federal employee I took note of my service comp date every year. I got a pin after 10 years I think, and maybe after 20 years too. I left on early retirement before my 30 years were up, though, so I never got that certificate or pin.

Many people take note each year on the dates that loved ones died. We remember the dates of difficult surgeries, major accidents and some illnesses, the acute ones like strokes and heart attacks, or serious ones like a cancer diagnosis. We remember some wars, when they started and when they ended. Assassinations, bombings, terror, earthquakes and floods all implant anniversary dates in our consciousness.

If we should forget one of these dates, we will be reminded. The media will tell us, or Facebook, which keeps track of our more personal anniversaries fairly well.

I began my weight loss journey on April 18, 2018. It is worth remembering that date because it has and continues to be quite a journey. It is not a day hike, and there have been many ups and downs, scary places, and fallen trees across the trail.

I gained some weight this week, mostly due to birthday cake I think, but in other good news, my weight this morning is exactly what it was 3 months ago. I name that a victory in staying on the path.

L’Chaim

Average weight this week was up 2.1 pounds for a total loss of 146

Leave a comment