Weekly Bread #145

My weight went up almost 2 pounds this week. Shocking in some ways, but totally predictable in others. We went down to Monterey Bay this week for a mini-vacation. We did a lot of good hiking, and covered 23 miles in 3 days. We also ate out every night (which was delicious and worth it!) and had some wine and even dessert two nights, but the hotel breakfast was lousy and carb heavy. The last morning we skipped it and went to a restaurant to get some good coffee and chorizo and eggs. Somehow I now really resent food that doesn’t taste good. My body needs food and coffee in the morning and if there is nothing else I will drink bad coffee for the caffeine and eat a micro-waved breakfast sandwich for the warmth and protein. But yuck. When food doesn’t taste good maybe it works as fuel but it doesn’t make me feel any better than it tastes. I used to think “free is good” which made buffets especially likely to lead to serious overeating. My attitude has shifted some on that, thankfully, but I blame this week’s larger than average weight gain on the lousy breakfasts.

Which of course is simple delusion. All food is fuel. If you take in more than you burn, it gets stored as fat. The yummy dinners were more than I needed too, but at least I enjoyed them. Sometimes you get a glimpse of the beauty that lurks beyond the brambles.

One last point: I didn’t take my scale with me. Early on in this journey, I packed a scale when I travelled so I could weigh myself every morning like I do at home. Without that check in, it is hard to know if I am keeping the right balance between food and exercise.

But what is also important is history, where we have been helps us know where we want to go. The first photo is in Point Lobos taken probably in February of 1975, shortly after Anne and I got together in January of that year. The second one is also at Point Lobos, taken last week.

February 1975

November 2021
July 2013

The last photo was taken in 2013 the day we got legally married.

I think I now look more like I did in 1975 than I did in 2013. Anne, of course, always looks the same.

L’Chaim!

My average weight this week is up 1.9 pounds for a total loss of 168.

Leave a comment