Daily Bread #124

Sometimes a trail turns out to be too hard to travel the way you would like. I experienced that this week and wrote a poem about it:

Perfect Hiker

Sometimes the trail is too steep

Your boots slide

On loose rocks

At every step

Your knees shudder

Barely keeping

You upright

It might be time

To give up

Your perfect techniques

Your way of planting

Your hiking sticks just so

Just sit down and slide

Let gravity do its work

As your butt glides over the rocks

It is a dusty trail

You’ll be covered in grime

Before you are done

But it is the only way

To get down a trail

That is too steep for you

Maybe too steep for anyone

With any sense

The point is always

To make it home

In one piece

Clean doesn’t matter

In the long run. 

Perfection is over-rated

Colier Springs Trail on Mt Tamalpais

I called it the “perfect hiker” partly because I was preaching this Sunday on perfection. I do believe perfection is over-rated and that perfectionism can in fact be hazardous to your well-being. A video of the sermon will be posted here, probably in a few weeks: There is a Crack in Everything

One I did last month got posted today: “It’s Great to be Gay”

I do miss preaching and the deep pastoral relationships a minister can develop with congregants when accompanying them through important life events. I also miss the prophetic social justice work that can be done in religious community. But being retired has its advantages. I don’t miss the stress about budget shortfalls, complicated and sometimes boring administrative issues, endless meetings, and I am glad that the aging buildings are someone else’s problem. I also don’t miss the conflicts that sometimes seemed to come out of nowhere. No matter the issue, a few people always seem to think it is the minister’s fault. Like maybe they created the pandemic just they could work from home via zoom? I have a lot of friends who are still working ministers. This is a very challenging time for most of them. As I said, I am glad I am retired. Be gentle with your pastors, people.

Preaching on zoom stressed me the first time; I really missed the live interaction with a congregation that wasn’t on mute. Today I kept my screen on gallery view so at least I could see some faces while I was talking. They even waved their hands at me once when I asked for a response! I am glad not to preach every Sunday, but it is really fun to do it once in awhile. And zoom worked pretty well for me, and I hope it did for them as well. Fun fact: I wore a nice top and a clerical stole, but I had flip flops on my feet.

It’s another reminder about how adaptable our species can be. We can worship on zoom. We can change a lifetime of less than helpful habits about food and exercise and create new ones that can improve our health –and our ability to work our way down even a horribly difficult trail. It isn’t easy. And, yes, the more planning you do the easier it gets, but slip-ups happened and sometimes you need to just sit down and slide. With any new thing, you need to pay a lot of attention at the beginning. Being compulsive helps. Hover your mouse over the “unmute” mutton. Weigh or measure everything you put in your mouth. I am still a beginner at zoom preaching, but it was much easier the second time around. After two plus years of consciously managing my weight, it feels almost automatic. And I will keep paying attention, but like preaching in person, I’ll plan what I want to do, but also leave some room for the Spirit to do its thing.

L’Chaim!  Week 18 of “maintenance”: My average weight this week is the same as last week’s average for a total loss of 181.2

Leave a comment