Daily Bread #123

Bon Tempe Lake

We are back from the Sierras, but still hiking. The annual parking pass for seniors at the watershed is a deal. We can now hike around a lake under the trees rather than slogging up from the bottom of the mountain in the heat. There are a ton of different trails, so we will have a lot of exploring to do up there over the next year.

It has been 15 weeks since I decided, when I reached the “normal” weight for my height of 150 pounds, that I was done with losing weight. My body has apparently not agreed with that decision as she has lost another 10 pounds during that time all on her own. My healthier eating habits and hiking hobby are influencing her I think, but I haven’t been trying. No worries. I still weigh more than I did in my 20’s, so we will just wait and see what happens in the next few months.

I did write a poem this week. Not sure where it came from. I pretty much just write them down. Maybe I was thinking we could use more healers in this world. It would also help to have someone who could cast out the demons and heal us from racism and white supremacy.

Miracle Man

He was a healer they said

A miracle man

It didn’t matter

Who you were

Or what you had

He’d heal your body

And drive the demons

From your soul

Let the children come

Blessed are the poor

Feed the hungry

He had grave doubts

As to the possibility

That the rich 

Would ever

Find salvation

That doesn’t mean

They shouldn’t try

Miracles can happen

After all

L’Chaim!  Week 15 of “maintenance” which I haven’t actually reached: My average weight this week is down another 1.2 pounds from last week’s average for a total loss of 182.4

Leave a comment