Daily Bread #113

IMG_3193

My old hiking boots are falling apart, so I ordered a new pair from REI.  It is weird buying shoes through the mail, but that is the world we live in now.  Miracle of miracles though, they fit really well and are very comfortable when I walk around the house in them. I’ll give them a few more days of house hiking before I try them on a trail, but I think they are going to work just fine.

I am less sure of the new gear I will need to navigate the world we now live in.  The pandemic was bad enough, but the never ending murders of unarmed black men (and other people of color) by police officers has again sparked the intense outrage it has always deserved.  We don’t have a leader of the country right now who can provide any message of calm or of healing.  Justice is being denied once again.  The grief and desperation that has erupted has been met with even more police violence.  The way to stop riots and looting is to stop murdering people.  The way to healing is to end racism, particularly within law enforcement.

George Floyd was executed by 4 police officers for being accused of passing a bad $20 bill.  Eric Garner was choked to death for selling cigarettes without a license.  Black people can’t jog, watch birds, or even sleep in their own homes without risking death at the hands of the police.

The white supremacist who killed 9 African Americans in cold blood during a prayer circle at their church was taken alive and the cops who captured him bought him a burger because he was hungry when they took him to the jail.

In Germany it started with the Jews.  I am afraid for all of us but most particularly for my siblings of color.  #blacklivesmatter

I may have to hit the streets again in protest. In the ’60’s I wore steel toed boots to the demonstrations and wore a bandana for the tear gas.  My new hiking boots and COVIS-19 masks may have to do this time around. At least I can move a bit faster now after my weight loss and with my new knee.

Be well, stay safe.

L’Chaim!  Week 5 of maintenance: My Fitbit report from last week shows 98778 steps for 39 miles.   I ate approximately 12152 calories and burned 14832 for a deficit of 2680. My average weight this week is up  .2 pounds from last week’s average for a total loss of 174.

Tags: ,

Leave a comment