Daily Bread #100

87966154_10220545203487631_4972618929496129536_n

This week I celebrated my 70th birthday with a dinner out with the family.  It feels really good to enjoy a dessert without feeling guilty.  My weight is still hovering at under 160, despite a bad cold slowing me down, a conference, and a birthday – so no worries.

I call this blog “Daily Bread”, but I post weekly, so I have been doing this blog every week for 100 weeks, almost 2 full years. I hope it has been helpful to others, but blogging about my journey each week helps keep me on track.  It is one more discipline, like exercising and counting the calories in the food I eat.  (I may have overestimated the pie calories as it was actually fairly light as well as yummy. Restaurant food is always a guessing game.)

It is a discipline, even when guessing. Discipline is self control, but it isn’t like will power. I am not forcing myself. It is more of a practice, and like a spiritual practice, if you are faithful to it, it can lead you to places you might never have imagined.  It takes some character and determination, but is definitely not denial.  The key is really wanting the result – a healthy body – more than that extra helping of whatever it might be.

70 years old feels pretty good.  I am healthier and able to do more physically than in the last 20 or so years.  I think I have earned all my gray hair and wrinkles, and believe I have accumulated just a little bit of wisdom through it all.  More challenges await, no doubt.  That is life after all.

L’Chaim!  This week’s stats: My Fitbit report shows 32610 steps last week for 13.7 miles.   I ate approximately 10416 calories and burned 11688 for a deficit of 1272. My average weight this week is up .6 pounds from last week’s average for a total loss of 163.6.

One response to “Daily Bread #100”

  1. Louetta Erlin says :

    Happy Belated 70th birthday, Theresa!!! Hope to see you Wednesday! Louetta

Leave a comment