Daily Bread #98

IMG_2796

My weight is starting to flatline, hovering just below 160.  No worries.  160 is just fine, it feels like a healthy weight for me and some of the weight is just loose skin (they don’t talk about that much).  Stabilizing may even mean I can get some new clothes that will fit me longer term.  I am glad I did not buy very many earlier on.

I signed up to take a new resting metabolic rate (RMR) test in another few weeks so I will have a more accurate picture of my normal calorie burn without exercise.  It will help some with the math I think.  I wanted to wait until my weight stabilized before doing it again, as larger bodies burn more calories than smaller ones at the same activity level so your RMR keeps changeing with your weight.  At this point it probably won’t tell me much that I don’t already know, but it is free for program participants who reach their “goal weight” and free is good.  I can go one morning with delayed caffeine in order to take the test.  For the test, you breathe into a tube which then calculates the calories you burn while resting.

I  got sick this week.  Nothing serious, just a bad cold, but it definitely slowed me down on my exercise routines.  I thought of applying the old adage of “feed a cold and starve a fever” but decided not to stuff myself and instead have been drinking a lot of soup, herbal tea, and liquid cold medicine at night, “so I can sleep” as the commercial says.   That and rest seems to be doing the trick. I fly off to a conference in Arizona soon.  Hopefully people on the plane won’t think I have the plague, which is not an unreasonable fear these days. Food will be a bit more complicated at the conference with shared meals, but again no worries.  This is all a habit for me by now.  I am really looking forward to the conference which is for retired Unitarian Universalist ministers and their partners.  Usually it has excellent programming and worship services and seeing old friends and colleagues is always wonderful.

L’Chaim!  This week’s stats: My Fitbit report shows 49574 steps last week for 20.9 miles.   I ate approximately 9618 calories and burned 12668 for a deficit of 3050. My average weight this week is up  .4 pounds from last week’s average for a total loss of 163.5.

One response to “Daily Bread #98”

  1. Louetta Erlin says :

    Theresa, i hope you will be well by the time you fly. I enjoy reading your posts. They are encouraging to me. Have a good, safe trip. Louetta

Leave a comment