Daily Bread #95

IMG_2759

Gold stars.  We got them (or at least I did) on our spelling tests when we were kids.  I never got one for handwriting and am grateful for my computer now as my handwriting is still terrible.

This neighborhood house above sports 7 or so gold stars, one on the door and several hanging from the surrounding trees.  It makes me smile to walk by.  Gold stars can be little rewards for jobs well done, for efforts made, for obstacles overcome.  I am not sure how that house earned its gold stars.  It doesn’t matter.  I am sure it deserves them.

I haven’t been getting gold stars for my weight loss and improved health, but I am getting LOTS of positive comments.  “Hello skinny,” feels a little weird as I am not skinny and likely never will be, but I understand the intent.  The changes in my body and mobility are obvious if not downright incredible.  Friends and acquaintances all tell me I am inspiring and that they are super impressed.  Frankly, I am kind of impressed with myself too, but it helps to hear it from others.  I also hope my example might help others – whatever their particular journey might be.  Change, of any type, is just hard, but making changes that you need to make can enhance – and maybe even save – your life.

L’Chaim!  This week’s stats: My Fitbit report shows 48497 steps last week for 19.8 miles.   I ate approximately 10269 calories and burned 13895 for a deficit of 3626. My average weight this week is down .8 pounds from last week’s average for a total loss of 163.2.

Leave a comment