Daily Bread #85

IMG_2694

I have been reluctant to invest in too many new clothes as I am still losing weight, but this is becoming a problem as the weather is turning colder.  OK, I am in California, and it isn’t that cold outside, but people don’t heat their houses here like they do in snow country.  I have shrunk out of the jeans I bought last year.  I didn’t have any sweaters that fit.  I have a couple of pairs of fleece jogging pants that fit, but they aren’t appropriate for everywhere, even being retired.  The thin pants I got last summer still fit well enough, but I am freezing when I wear them.  I also have less “natural insulation” these days.

But my 30 year old daughter came to the rescue yesterday.  She’d cleaned out her closet and had a load of clothes which she was going to donate.  I asked to see them and found a couple of shirts and a warmish jacket that fit.  The two belts will hold up my jeans!  Even better, I can wear some of Anne’s clothes now, and she got some stuff from our daughter’s stash as well, so she was more willing to let me have a few more of her things.  A couple of vests and a warm jacket are what I most appreciate.  It is weird that I can now wear her clothes.  Just the ones that were big on her, but still.  She is my height and under 110 pounds.

Once I reach my maintenance level, I’ll have to do some serious shopping.  When will that be?  Who knows?  I feel very comfortable with my current weight, but I am still losing without trying very hard, so it seems my body wants to be at least a bit smaller.  We will wait until she is satisfied.

This last week was a case in point.  My knee still hurts so I have gone very easy on exercise and am still down almost 2 pounds.

In class last week we talked about the various fad diets and how people can lose weight on them, but because they don’t change their lifestyle, the weight comes right back.  I never did that kind of dieting and believe I have made enough changes in how I eat and exercise that I can maintain whatever weight my body and I decide is maintenance

L’Chaim!  This week’s stats: My Fitbit report shows 25476 steps last week for 10.7 miles.  I ate approximately 9562 calories and burned 12053 for a deficit of 2491. My average weight this week is down 1.7 pound from  last week’s average for a total loss of 152.7.

Leave a comment