Fear

wall-flowers

Shall we tremble and shake

Hide in our homes

Afraid of the streets

No neighbors around

Just a posse of hate

As a madman demands we

Cast our ballots in fear

 

I want to be brave

As the flowers that bloom

I want to be strong

As the mountains that rise

I want to be tender

As the small chickadee

 

“The only thing we have to fear is fear itself – nameless, unreasoning, unjustified terror which paralyses needed efforts to convert retreat into advance.”

FDR said that

It reminded me

What I fear most is fear

Shake it off, friends,

Shake it off

There is room here for all

Of our neighbors

Gay, straight, black, white

Christian, Muslim, atheist

Immigrant, and citizen

Everyone, no exceptions.

We need to build a wall

To keep fear out.

 

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment