Weekly Bread #256

Things look different in the rain. Mist softens the surroundings, creating something like an Impressionist style painting. It is one of the pleasures of hiking in the rain. Who am I kidding? I don’t like hiking in the rain. It is cold, damp, I sweat in my airless rain jacket, slip in the mud, and my glasses get fogged up when they are covered in rain and it is hard to see anything, even the trail. It is better than when it is too hot, however. Everything is relative I suppose. We do the best we can and even try to appreciate what we can. I do like the misty images, but I’d rather look at them from inside someplace warm and dry. Then again, the mistiness may be partly due to the cataracts my eyes are developing. 

Some of life is just realizing that things really could be worse. This is true even when things are pretty bad and are much more disheartening than a soggy muddy hike. It is easy to turn around on a hiking trail if it starts to rain. It is not so easy to walk away from other things. Muddy boots can be cleaned. Clothes and gear can be washed or even replaced. Sometimes, just sometimes, there are small blessings beneath the surface, even when it is raining, or maybe even when it is snowing.

L’Chaim!

My average weight this week was down .5 pounds for a total loss of 138.6. 

Leave a comment