Falling into Grace

images-12

I fell down a lot when I was a kid, so many times that I can’t count them.  I always had skinned and scabby knees.  All kids fall a fair amount I suppose, my own children certainly took some tumbles.  I may have fallen more than is usual, however, as I had polio when I was just a year old, and my legs are a bit uneven which can throw my coordination off.  It was hard to learn to skip, and I never learned to skate.  I am just not physically graceful.

As adult I have only had three falls that were at all serious, which is really quite miraculous.

Once was just this last Sunday, thankfully just after and not just before I lead my first worship service at a new church.  There is a step in the back of the chancel that was not yet embedded in my memory.  While I was putting my things together before heading to the social hour, I tripped on that step, and down I went.  No major damage, but my shoulder is still sore from where I landed.  The first service at a new church is a big deal.

The time before was in my driveway in Ogden, Utah.  I was on my way to the church where I was to lead worship for the congregation and for the attendees of our district assembly.  There were Unitarian Universalists from all over the western states, and the sanctuary was packed.  It was very big deal to be leading worship for that gathering.  I preached that day with a black eye and a scab on my chin.  I also damaged one of my knees in that fall, a knee that still gives me some trouble.

The first time I took a big fall as an adult was after going out to Thai food with an old and very dear friend.  We left the restaurant and crossed the street on our way to the car. The pavement was uneven, and I tripped and my face landed on the curb.  I broke my glasses that time.  The next day I got on a plane to DC for my very first meeting with the then Commissioner of the Social Security Administration, Kenneth Apfel. The meeting was an extremely big deal, something the organization I worked with had put a lot of effort into setting up.  I met him with a black eye, taped-up glasses, and a few scabs on my face.

I don’t fall often, obviously, partly as I tend to be fairly careful knowing how clumsy I can be.  I do trip a lot. But it seems my serious falls have all been at times where something significant is happening.  It is likely just a random coincidence.  I don’t always fall down at momentous occasions.  I might have stumbled a bit at my wedding, but I definitely did not fall to the ground.

We can draw some meaning even from random events, if we want to do so.

These three falls of mine all happened around events that were highlights of my professional careers, moments that I felt both lucky and honored to have experienced.  Moments of grace, if you will.

We can’t all be graceful, but our lives really can be full of grace.

How’s that for finding an accidental blessing?

 

 

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

