Cry Me a River

standinglove

It has been a day for tears

For weeping

A day unimagined

For most of my life

Has actually come

And I am reminded

That hope can surprise us

That from hard work and pain

Beauty can arise

And love sometimes can win

So I cry for joy.

And I sob for all who have been lost

Before this day

For the struggle has been long

And I cry for those who will still die

Along the way

For the journey is not done.

There is always a backlash

As we know all too well

Black churches are still burning

Even as a song of grace

Flows up from the grief

For those lost in Charleston

Cry me a river

Spirit of life

Hold us and heal us

Make our hearts larger

As joy and pain overflow.

Help us to rise

And stand once again

And always

On the side of love.

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Cry Me a River”

  1. Becky Gunn says :

    I have always loved your poetry and this reflects my feelings of yesterday. Cries of pain, of joy, of grief. So proud to have a President who defined grace yesterday for all to see and feel.

Leave a Reply

