Got to be Tough

You’ve got to be tough

She said

Or you would not

Have survived

Yes I am

I said

For survive I did

 

Hard headed yes

With few illusions

But tender hearted too

True strength

Is brave enough

To risk everything

For love

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Got to be Tough”

  1. Kimberley Debus says :

    Yes. Yes. Yes.

    This puts me in mind of my experience after a terrible car accident where a homeless Desert Storm vet ran in front of my car on a dark, rainy night. Many months (and many hours of therapy) later, my minister asked me how I was doing, and suggested I must be really strong to be getting through it. I remarked that my heart was heavy, but that the weight held my heart open – that I found myself more compassionate and giving.

    • revtheresanovak says :

      Thanks for your comment, Kimberly. And yes, what doesn’t kill us can make us stronger – and I love Leonard Cohen’s line: “There is a crack in everything. That’s how the light gets in.”

Leave a Reply

