Returning

I haven’t posted in awhile.  Transitions are funny things; it is hard to maintain a focus when surrounded by boxes and you aren’t quite sure of the time zone.  We moved from Utah to California on July 1.  The furniture came several days later, and then on the 12th, we left for a long planned vacation to Europe.  Bad timing in some ways, but the trip was paid for before I decided to leave the church in Ogden at the end of June.

The house is coming together, but I don’t have my home office really set up yet and I don’t start at my new church until August 15th.

Changes.  New things.  Then again, it is also coming home, back to the house where we lived for 25 years and raised our kids.  Some of the old neighbors are still here as are some of our favorite restaurants.   Prices are much higher than Utah, for everything. California isn’t perfect, but it is so worth it to live somewhere my marriage is recognized without question, even by random people standing in line at the deli counter.  (You can’t get Molinari Salami in Utah, and my comment about that started a whole fun conversation about why I had lived there and why I left.)

More poetry will come again I know, but for now, I just wanted to explain my rather long absence.

 

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

