How shall I say goodbye?

images-7

 

How shall I say goodbye

How can I loosen

The heartstrings

That have held us so close

For the last seven years

A lifetime it seemed

A ministry true

Hope and dreams

Tears and laughter

Music and prayer

Were the cement

That bound us together

We trembled in awe

At the mystery of life

Revealed each new day

The blessings of birth

The tears of grief

The joy of weddings

The hard work of  justice

I won’t say goodbye

I won’t break my heart

The ties are so deep

The best I can do

Is offer with grace

A fond fare thee well

My hearts strings will sing

In memory and love

A sweet song of gratitude

For the rest of my life

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “How shall I say goodbye?”

  1. DORIS AND TOM LANG says :

    Oh my, so beautiful. This really brings tears for me.

    With my love and gratitude, Doris

    Date: Fri, 4 Apr 2014 19:34:58 +0000 To: tomndoris@msn.com

  2. Kathleen McGregor says :

    This is sweet and sad and hopeful, all at the same time.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. A Heartfelt Farewell | Sermons, Poetry, and Other Musings - June 22, 2014

Leave a Reply

