Taking up Space September 2004

I am a large woman

And I need some space.

The world is not big enough

Sometimes.

Sharp elbows jutting, jabbing

The smaller people

Push by with impatience.

Their looks of disgust

Try to cut me down to size.

I don’t feel crowded

By other fat people,

Even in a small space.

Our round bodies bump

Pleasantly together

With a jiggling, Jello-pudding ease.

Comfortable.

Earth mother goddess,

Welcoming, warm, and wise.

Ah.

Funny how someone so big

Can feel so invisible.

Yes, EXTRA large

Is way too small.

Really.

I don’t want to feel small

Simply because I am

What someone else thinks is

Way too big.

I am a large woman

And I need some space.

I want to grow larger still

Spirit filling my body  – and more

Flowing out, around.

Free.

Divine spirit,

Larger than all imagination,

Teach us how to bump more gently

Into one another.

May our spirits flow

Around the sharp edges,

Around the rude elbows

That jab us apart.

We are large souls

And we need some space

To be

Together.

 

Decided to post after reading the Rev. Dr. Cynthia Landrum’s post on her blog. http://revcyn.blogspot.com/2013/06/the-big-issue.html

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Taking up Space September 2004”

  1. Lyn says :

    I like this very much and may sometime ask permission to use in a service – bravo! You seem to be a blogging natural. Lyn

  2. Famous Haiku Poets says :

    I just could not go away your website before suggesting that I extremely enjoyed the usual information a person provide to your visitors?
    Is going to be again incessantly in order to check out new posts

Leave a Reply

